Discussion Forums  >  Config Data, JSON, App Refresh

Replies: 8    Views: 191

Rad Doc
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 653
Reg: Oct 08, 2010
USA, NYC
8,580
Fourm Star
12/28/13 07:35 AM (8 years ago)

2 Screen Data URLS. Need Some Advice/Help

Hey All, Im hoping someone can help me out. I've got a project that has 90+ industry categories in the form of a menu list that all have sub menu lists. I'm using a screen data url to pull in the info with an API. Im having success when pulling the Industry List but when I click the category to display the companies in that category, its displaying the api url as a web page. My question is can i have 2 screen data urls in one page? Attached is the url if anyone can help me dissect my issue. Any help would be great. Thanks Category (Industry)- http://app-life.com/siedc/api.php Sub Category ( Company )- http://app-life.com/siedc/api.php?id=6
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
12/28/13 12:06 PM (8 years ago)
Absolutely possible. In your first URL, you're loading the Custom URL plugin for each menu item. You should be loading a menu screen.
 
Rad Doc
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 653
Reg: Oct 08, 2010
USA, NYC
8,580
Fourm Star
like
12/28/13 12:47 PM (8 years ago)
I am getting the first menu list (Industry List) when i launch the first url that i set in my screen data url field in the control panel. But when I launch the second url ( Company ) from the menu screen I'm getting a web view of my json files. Here are 2 screenshots https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/35241128/Sample%20Screenshot/Screen%20Shot%202013-12-28%20at%209.08.22%20AM.png https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/35241128/Sample%20Screenshot/Screen%20Shot%202013-12-28%20at%209.08.30%20AM.png
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
12/28/13 01:19 PM (8 years ago)
That's because you use the Custom URL plugin for the secondary click. Look at the loadScreenObject property in your first URL
 
Rad Doc
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 653
Reg: Oct 08, 2010
USA, NYC
8,580
Fourm Star
like
12/28/13 01:24 PM (8 years ago)
I replicated the first link when i made the second minus the intro text. Any suggestions on how i can structure my secondary click to display the menu instead of a web view of my json
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
12/28/13 01:31 PM (8 years ago)
In the first link, replace BT_screen_customURL references with BT_screen_menuSimple (I think that's right ... Doing this on my phone by memory)
 
Rad Doc
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 653
Reg: Oct 08, 2010
USA, NYC
8,580
Fourm Star
like
12/28/13 01:48 PM (8 years ago)
No Good, It loads the first list but does not load the secondary list. It goes to a blank screen
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
12/28/13 03:38 PM (8 years ago)
Try "BT_screen_menuListSimple" - now that I got to my computer, I realize I had typed that wrong. It should go in the itemType property.
 
Niraj Shah
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2942
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,920
Fourm StarFourm Star
like
12/28/13 09:34 PM (8 years ago)
Smug has a little kit to help you understand the loadScreenObject, here is what he said to Jeremy on a similar post: Hey Jeremy, although not 'explicitly' made for what you're trying to do, I suspect a bit of the code will work for you, if edited a bit for your purposes. It's in a little zip file I keep to 'demonstrate' the loadScreenObject methods… https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/115208762/loadScreenObject.zip It has Database connections and things for retrieval, and could work as a rough template. Let me know if it works, or doesn't. We'll figure out the next step. Cheers! -- Smug Edit: One thing I notice, 90% of my issues with mySql and php is my syntax. an extra comma, a missing quote, something like that. Keep an eye on your syntax... https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?tid=9EE0AB76D363846913E0B25&currentPage=1
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.