Discussion Forums  >  Config Data, JSON, App Refresh

Replies: 10    Views: 193

Jen
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 70
Reg: Mar 14, 2013
Melbourne
2,750
Fourm Star
08/14/13 04:46 PM (9 years ago)

Configuration Data Invalid

Hi, I am hoping someone can help me. When running the simulator, I get the following response: "The configuration data for this application data is invalid" I copied the BT_config.txt into JSONLint and got the following result: Parse error on line 2004: ... "itemNickname": "Gizmo's Freeware", -----------------------^ Expecting 'STRING', 'NUMBER', 'NULL', 'TRUE', 'FALSE', '{', '[' I removed the and rebuilt, but got the same result. After reading some forum responses, I left it for a day - but no luck there either. I even deleted the screen from my circle menu, but not the original screen itself. I am at a loss (being only a minor tech girl). Can anyone put me on the right path? Thanks heaps, Jen
 
LA
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 3278
Reg: Aug 16, 2012
Jerseyville, IL
42,880
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/14/13 04:55 PM (9 years ago)
Hi @Jen, Did you try to put this at the end } ? LA
 
Kittsy
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2251
Reg: Feb 22, 2012
Liverpool
31,360
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/14/13 05:11 PM (9 years ago)
Try removing the apostrophe in gizmo's . without seeing it completely difficult to diagnose. @LA if the json is created from the control panel adding extra characters will just mean it will error on refresh
 
LA
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 3278
Reg: Aug 16, 2012
Jerseyville, IL
42,880
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/14/13 05:13 PM (9 years ago)
Yeah your right @Kittsy! LA
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/14/13 05:44 PM (9 years ago)
Sometimes it's a ' vs. a ` that causes the problem. Mark
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/14/13 05:55 PM (9 years ago)
I've just learned to keep apostrophes out of my app strings. Cheers! -- Smug
 
Jen
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 70
Reg: Mar 14, 2013
Melbourne
2,750
Fourm Star
like
08/19/13 12:20 AM (9 years ago)
Thanks for everyone's response. Much appreciated - the support on buzztouch is awesome. I have tried everything, but the JSON data still shows the same error. I've even just deleted the entire screen, but its still haunting me! Is there a refresh method I need to do in order to get the changed recognised? I thought it would automatically do so. Forgive my ignorance... I did have a suggestion that one of my paid plugin may have a bug. Has anyone heard of the circle list view plugin having problems? I'd prefer not to have to change it.
 
Jen
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 70
Reg: Mar 14, 2013
Melbourne
2,750
Fourm Star
like
08/19/13 12:50 AM (9 years ago)
Mark, i'm not sure what you mean by 'vs.a' problem. is this something I need to look for in JSON? thanks, Jen
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/19/13 09:34 AM (9 years ago)
Hi Jen, There are two things that look like an apostrophe on the keyboard...on is on the same key as the double quotes, and the other is on the same key as the tilde. Sometimes people use the one on the tilde key for some reason, and that can break things. Mark
 
Jen
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 70
Reg: Mar 14, 2013
Melbourne
2,750
Fourm Star
like
08/21/13 04:06 PM (9 years ago)
Hi, I just wanted to say thanks for everyone's thoughtful input. For some reason, it fixed itself when I deleted all unused screens...odd, but who cares? It's fixed. Again, thanks. Jen
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
08/21/13 06:29 PM (9 years ago)
Fixed is good. There will be those times where something on line 5,698 affects something on line 4. Not common, but not unheard of. Glad you're up, running, and back on the street :) Cheers! -- Smug
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.