Discussion Forums  >  Buzztouch News and Announcements

Replies: 31    Views: 425

David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
01/16/17 05:00 AM (2 years ago)

Buzztouch 4.0.1 for iOS and Android

So lots of good info came in about 4.0.0, we've made some improvements, implemented some bug fixes and have 4.0.1 ready in your control panels.

Like the previous release, download a project, give it a go, comment on this thread.
 
Sherry
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 130
Reg: Jan 05, 2013
South Africa
11,600
like
01/16/17 06:02 AM (2 years ago)
I just tried downloading a small test app from BT Control Panel using 2 of Chris1 plugins (Html pro and Menu Image Advanced) and see on the iOS download the BT_Plugins folder is empty. The Android download did however include the JAVA files in the bt_plugins folder.
 
Tyroner
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 175
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Johannesburg, S...
4,200
like
01/16/17 06:53 AM (2 years ago)
Same issue regarding empty BT-Plugin folder when I open project in Xcode. I deleted folder in Xcode and then copied the folder from the downloaded project. Then got this error when trying to run the project:

'JSON.h' file not found
AK_SlideMenu
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
01/16/17 08:06 AM (2 years ago)
Empty Plugin Folder...ahhhhhh.

Standbye...
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
01/16/17 08:14 AM (2 years ago)
Just ran a few tests. Seems OK.

Maybe this:

Keep in mind that NO plugins that were created by me will show up in your BT_Plugins folder. We're starting to call these Third Party Plugins. Plugins that I've made are included in the project in the BT_Screens folder. This is a change from the old days. This means your BT_Plugins folder should contains plugins that you selected on the download page that I didn't create. Hope this makes sense. You'll also notice that none of "my" plugins are in the market anymore. This is intentional, we're included them all in every download now.

In the three tests I did I selected several plugins that I didn't create and they were indeed in the BT_Plugins folder in the .zip archive - as expected.

Maybe list the plugins here, the ones you're expecting to see in the project?
 
Bonzo
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 756
Reg: Jan 30, 2012
Hampshire, ENGL...
13,260
like
01/16/17 08:29 AM (2 years ago)
im seeing the same as david

all my non BT plugins are appearing in the BT_Plugins folder OK

app_rater, bta_design_menu, buzz_carousel, easy_in_app_purchase, tm_invisiblefacebook & tm_invisibletwitter
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
01/16/17 09:19 AM (2 years ago)
It could be just a lack of communication our our part.

The idea "was" to drag ALL the plugins your project depended on into Xcode after downloading the project. But, as it turns out, lots and lots of apps use the ones we consider standard now. Including them in the project means a new developer doesn't need to "worry about" dragging anything around or whatever.

Naturally Third Party plugins still need to be added to the Xcode project after downloading the .zip. We're hoping 4.0.2 automagically includes them too :-)
 
Tyroner
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 175
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Johannesburg, S...
4,200
like
01/16/17 09:20 AM (2 years ago)
Working OK now thanks. Still getting the JSON error.
 
Bonzo
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 756
Reg: Jan 30, 2012
Hampshire, ENGL...
13,260
like
01/16/17 09:27 AM (2 years ago)
i think the json error means the plugin needs updating for 4.0 by the developer?
 
feraco
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 704
Reg: Jan 23, 2012
nyc
15,040
like
01/16/17 09:27 AM (2 years ago)
cr_animated_circle_menu Is not showing in my plugin folder.
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
01/16/17 09:37 AM (2 years ago)
@feraco, miss ya buddy! Hope things are well.

I snooped around a bit in the cr_animated_circle_menu package to see what may be funky. Thinking maybe some weirdness on the folder stucture for that plugin or whatever.

I was right! Just before Jan 1 2017 we ran an automated process to add a new folder to every plugins package. To do this we copied source-ios-3.0 and created source-ios-4.0. The difference is obvious.

But, this package does NOT have a source-ios-4.0 folder. Which leads me to believe that @Chris1 updated this package (last updated says Jan 2) without realizing the new folder idea.

I'll reach out to @Chris1 and get some details :-)

Also, seems logical the the build-process on our end add some sort of "NOTES.txt" file or whatevever to the download. This file could read something like "cr_animated_circle_menu" does not have any code for BT 4.0.x. Seems useful. I'll look into that idea.
 
feraco
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 704
Reg: Jan 23, 2012
nyc
15,040
like
01/16/17 09:48 AM (2 years ago)
Thanks David!

Ill wait to see what happens. Ill test it again in a little bit. Maybe on the plugin market you can have which versions of BT the plugin is compatible with.
 
Sherry
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 130
Reg: Jan 05, 2013
South Africa
11,600
like
01/16/17 09:56 AM (2 years ago)
David I think what happened with @feraco is the same issue I had earlier with the 2 plugins I mentioned from Chris1 (HTML Pro & Menu Image Advanced) because now when I select every plugin I have installed on my BT account (some updated for BT 4 and some still the old BT3) I see that a whole lot of them do download into the BT_Plugins folder but those 2 are missing so hence why my folder was empty earlier when I tried it because I had only selected these 2 plugins apart from your standard ones which are in the BT_Screens folder.
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
01/16/17 10:14 AM (2 years ago)
All making sense. Just had a look at the downloader process. It's elementary to "check for the 3.0" code if the 4.0 code doesn't exist. My fear is that this could / will cause more trouble than it's worth.

There are some changes to how the core works that will surely produce some errors / warnings in the Xcode project if we force the 3.0 files (where 4.0 files aren't available).

On one hand I can see how this could then motivate a plugin developer to update their packages. A good thing. On the other hand I can see how all these errors would cause new folks serious pain, the very thing we're trying to eliminate.

I'm gonna lobby (I'm not the boss anymore!) for starting with a .txt file in the download called "MISSING_PLUGINS.TXT" - go from there. Updating plugins, all of them, is of course the ultimate goal.

Can't wait for iOS 32.2 to hit my phone. LOL
 
Pogden
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 12
Reg: Sep 03, 2011
Surrey
1,420
like
01/16/17 10:10 PM (2 years ago)
Has there been any solution to both the HTML Pro and Menu Image Advanced plugins not being included in the plugins folder after download?
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
01/17/17 01:35 PM (2 years ago)
I would imagine that like me, most plugin developers keep their source locally, then update it locally, then upload any changes. So I for one would never have noticed this automated update to a plugin if you hadn't mentioned it lol.

It's a bit tricky at the moment but I'm sure we'll get there. I for one am keen to update my plugins and also make it obvious that they are BT 4 compatible in the market place. I we need a directive on a way of highlighting its BT4 compatibility that can work in an automated way.

In the light of this thread, I'm thinking maybe an update an existing file (e.g. config.txt) with a new entry for BT version? The purpose would be to flag up that the plugin itself is BT 4 compatible, which could only happen if the plugin is manually updated.

Not sure who to to lobby but consider this as one lobbyable idea. Cheers, Alan
 
snowman7040
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 82
Reg: Jul 03, 2013
lawton
5,420
like
01/17/17 02:39 PM (2 years ago)
OK I made an app for 3.0 work just fine work great on iOS now that iOS is updated trying to make one for 4.0 and getting nowhere all I get is a white screen made a test app of the core plugins work just fine as far as the simple menu the location plug-in and the colors plugin is there something I need to do in order to get my old app that I need to update working correctly
 
snowman7040
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 82
Reg: Jul 03, 2013
lawton
5,420
like
01/17/17 02:40 PM (2 years ago)
Call us not color lol
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
01/19/17 03:58 PM (2 years ago)
Thanks for all the testing everybody has been doing on the new code! Normally I'm all over it, but life has been super crazy lately. My first attempt at the first release gave me the same issues everybody else had. Looking forward to those being resolved soon!

Mark
 
snowman7040
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 82
Reg: Jul 03, 2013
lawton
5,420
like
01/20/17 02:47 PM (2 years ago)
still getting nothing but a white screen this was an old project that worked just fine antil now


2017-01-20 15:41:21.610178 tramp4life[1875:3150013] [DYMTLInitPlatform] platform initialization successful
2017-01-20 15:41:21.783091 tramp4life[1875:3149929] tramp4life_appDelegate: didFinishLaunchingWithOptions (iOS)
2017-01-20 15:41:21.806133 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: prefersStatusBarHidden
2017-01-20 15:41:21.812947 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewDidLoad (BT_viewController)
2017-01-20 15:41:21.813348 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewDidLoad
2017-01-20 15:41:21.833420 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewWillAppear (BT_viewController)
2017-01-20 15:41:21.833660 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: configureNavBar (BT_viewController) self.screenData not available, not configuring nav bar.
2017-01-20 15:41:21.833969 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: configureBackground (BT_viewController) self.screenData not available, not configuring background.
2017-01-20 15:41:21.834396 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: fadeInOnEntry (BT_viewController):
2017-01-20 15:41:21.840883 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: prefersStatusBarHidden
2017-01-20 15:41:21.841696 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: prefersStatusBarHidden
2017-01-20 15:41:21.849301 tramp4life[1875:3149929] tramp4life_appDelegate: applicationDidBecomeActive rootApp not available yet (iOS).
2017-01-20 15:41:21.854299 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewWillLayoutSubviews (BT_viewController)
2017-01-20 15:41:21.854571 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewWillLayoutSubviews (BT_viewController)
2017-01-20 15:41:21.871396 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewDidAppear
2017-01-20 15:41:21.871685 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: initWithDatabaseFilename: BT_database.sqlite
2017-01-20 15:41:21.872400 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: copyDatabaseFromBundle: (exists) not copying "BT_database.sqlite"
2017-01-20 15:41:21.872610 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: createDefaultTables
2017-01-20 15:41:21.875765 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: createTableWithName: "tbl_btItems" NOT CREATING, exists
2017-01-20 15:41:21.876355 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_device: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:21.908073 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_device: getCurrentMemoryUsage
2017-01-20 15:41:21.943977 tramp4life[1875:3149929] [MC] System group container for systemgroup.com.apple.configurationprofiles path is /private/var/containers/Shared/SystemGroup/systemgroup.com.apple.configurationprofiles
2017-01-20 15:41:21.950358 tramp4life[1875:3149929] [MC] Filtering mail sheet accounts for bundle ID: com.tramp4life.com, source account management: 1
2017-01-20 15:41:21.956217 tramp4life[1875:3149929] [MC] Result: NO
2017-01-20 15:41:21.956998 tramp4life[1875:3149929] [MC] Reading from public effective user settings.
2017-01-20 15:41:21.966167 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_user: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:21.966681 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_user: User is not logged in
2017-01-20 15:41:21.967047 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:21.968081 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_locationManager: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:21.968229 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_soundEffectPlayer: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:21.968371 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_soundEffectPlayer: loadSoundEffects
2017-01-20 15:41:21.968559 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: loadAppData
2017-01-20 15:41:21.968762 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getBtItemWithId: "appCoreProperties"
2017-01-20 15:41:21.968880 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * FROM tbl_btItems WHERE guid = 'appCoreProperties'"
2017-01-20 15:41:21.971555 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: loadAppData, parsing previously "appCoreProperties"
2017-01-20 15:41:21.972024 tramp4life[1875:3150001] BT_loading: loadAppData: Downloading from: https://www.buzztouch.com/api/app/?command=getAppData&appGuid=JA4C7FEEE7F66C4E6C0594423&apiKey=5AEADC8106EE67C61426062&apiSecret=F84328C5268063FDFE1E11E
2017-01-20 15:41:22.573294 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: updateConfigDataInDatabase: parsing config data
2017-01-20 15:41:22.582167 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * FROM tbl_btItems"
2017-01-20 15:41:22.727531 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: updateConfigDataInDatabase: Database contains 571 rows BEFORE update.
2017-01-20 15:41:22.727743 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getSimpleStringListWithQuery: "SELECT guid FROM tbl_btItems"
2017-01-20 15:41:22.746465 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: updateRowInTable: Updating "tbl_btItems" row with guid: "appCoreProperties"
2017-01-20 15:41:22.746612 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getColumnInfoForTable: "tbl_btItems"
2017-01-20 15:41:22.804422 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: updateRowsInTable: "tbl_btItems"
2017-01-20 15:41:22.804716 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getColumnInfoForTable: "tbl_btItems"
2017-01-20 15:41:22.896668 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * FROM tbl_btItems"
2017-01-20 15:41:23.020779 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: updateConfigDataInDatabase: Database contains 571 rows AFTER update.
2017-01-20 15:41:23.021865 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getBtItemWithId: "appCoreProperties"
2017-01-20 15:41:23.021997 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * FROM tbl_btItems WHERE guid = 'appCoreProperties'"
2017-01-20 15:41:23.024389 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: setAppCorePropertiesFromBtItem
2017-01-20 15:41:23.024656 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: buildInterface app interface
2017-01-20 15:41:23.025304 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_background_view: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:23.025792 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: getTabs
2017-01-20 15:41:23.025914 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getBtItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * from tbl_btItems WHERE itemTypeLabel = 'Tab'"
2017-01-20 15:41:23.026035 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * from tbl_btItems WHERE itemTypeLabel = 'Tab'"
2017-01-20 15:41:23.028463 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: buildInterface: building a single navigation controller with homeScreenItemId: ""
2017-01-20 15:41:23.028590 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: getItemDataByItemId: ERROR, no itemId provided
2017-01-20 15:41:23.028699 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: getViewControllerForScreen: ERROR no itemId in screenData
2017-01-20 15:41:23.029672 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_navController: pushViewController
2017-01-20 15:41:23.030055 tramp4life[1875:3149929] Application tried to push a nil view controller on target <BT_navController: 0x10105f400>.
2017-01-20 15:41:23.042042 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_application: This app does not use a splash screen
2017-01-20 15:41:23.042345 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_contextMenu: INIT
2017-01-20 15:41:23.051161 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: fadeOutLoadView
2017-01-20 15:41:23.051784 tramp4life[1875:3149929] tramp4life_appDelegate: reportToCloud
2017-01-20 15:41:23.052423 tramp4life[1875:3150002] tramp4life_appDelegate: reportToCloud: reporting to: https://www.buzztouch.com/api/app/?command=reportToCloud&appGuid=JA4C7FEEE7F66C4E6C0594423&apiKey=5AEADC8106EE67C61426062&apiSecret=F84328C5268063FDFE1E11E&deviceId=E61B35FE-6D80-4990-A298-FCB9FB51B4AD&deviceLatitude=0&deviceLongitude=0&deviceModel=iPod%20touch&userId=
2017-01-20 15:41:23.224252 tramp4life[1875:3149929] tramp4life_appDelegate: reportToCloud: Response:{"lastModifiedUTC":"Tue, 17 Jan 2017 20:33:04 -0800"}
2017-01-20 15:41:23.224469 tramp4life[1875:3149929] tramp4life_appDelegate: reportToCloud: app data not modified on server, not refreshing
2017-01-20 15:41:23.224668 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: appDidReportToCloud (BT_viewController)
2017-01-20 15:41:23.599630 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: fadeInStartView
2017-01-20 15:41:23.600374 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: viewWillDisappear (BT_viewController)
2017-01-20 15:41:23.600629 tramp4life[1875:3149929] BT_loading: fadeOutOnExit (BT_viewController):
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
01/21/17 06:23 AM (2 years ago)
@snowman7040

I loaded the URL in this Log data you posted. Go ahead and click this URL, it's the URL your app is using to load it's data.

https://www.buzztouch.com/api/app/?command=getAppData&appGuid=JA4C7FEEE7F66C4E6C0594423&apiKey=5AEADC8106EE67C61426062&apiSecret=F84328C5268063FDFE1E11E

When it loads in a browser you'll notice there are no entries for homeScreenItemId and others. Have a look, you'll see:

themeItemId":"",
"homeScreenItemId":"",
"splashScreenItemId":"",
"registrationScreenItemId":"",
"registrationRequired":"0"

I would try this:

a) Visit your control panel.
b) Set the Home Screen in the Layout options.
c) Save.

Reload that URL, bet it works.
 
snowman7040
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 82
Reg: Jul 03, 2013
lawton
5,420
like
01/21/17 01:52 PM (2 years ago)
That was it thanks
 
Tyroner
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 175
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Johannesburg, S...
4,200
like
01/26/17 08:13 AM (2 years ago)
I created a test project. App not refreshing. Tried closing Xcode, closing simulator but no luck.
 
Tyroner
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 175
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Johannesburg, S...
4,200
like
01/26/17 09:25 AM (2 years ago)
Re-downloaded project. Now just a white screen. No refresh button. Only using David's plugins.
 
Kaybee
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 651
Reg: Sep 22, 2012
Perth, Australi...
44,610
like
01/27/17 12:45 AM (2 years ago)
@Tyrone, are you on Bt hosted or self hosted?

Can you give us any more details?

Have you set the home screen? If you running self hosted have you updated those files David made available?

Kristen
 
Tyroner
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 175
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Johannesburg, S...
4,200
like
01/27/17 12:54 AM (2 years ago)
I use the BT Control panel. I set my home screen as Menu Simple Plugin. It loads as a blank page. No refresh button in left corner. I tried changing it to Tabbed Layout but the main problem is that App does not refresh when I make changes. Nothing changes when I update the app in the control panel. The same happens regardless of whether I use the simulator or using the app on my iPhone.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
01/27/17 02:20 AM (2 years ago)
Hi @Tyroner.

I found issues with app behaviour if I used tabs, I posted my issues here: https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?tid=D99C3EA53545E7713D2413B

I tweaked a test app to load with with menu simple, no tabs, linking to a custom url to see if I could mimic the problem, but I couldn't, it loads and refreshes for me, which may mean it is something in the build process? Are you using the latest version of xcode?
 
Tyroner
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 175
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Johannesburg, S...
4,200
like
01/27/17 06:59 AM (2 years ago)
I am using Xcode 8.2.1
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
01/27/17 09:29 AM (2 years ago)
David just posted something, sounds like it could be a fix to your problem: https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?fid=EC998478AAEBAED36F497B8&tid=EC998478AAEBAED36F497B8
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1126
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,060
like
01/31/17 10:24 AM (2 years ago)
Just wanted to say, Ive just built new app since the changes have been made, was bit bit worried due to all the problems people where having, as im a complete novice when it comes to code (even though ive been here 3 years lol) Used 1 updated plugin from Alan above, plus some included plugins from Buzz, And it all works great, no errors and ran straight away on device,
Thanks for all your hard work guys, looking forward to the future with Buzztouch :)
Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
01/31/17 11:58 AM (2 years ago)
Hi Sean, pleased to hear you are having some success. Please make sure you using the latest version of Menu Buttons Plus (presumably thats the plugin you meant) that I updated today, and it fixes a couple of issues I had to do with reading from the control panel on iOS.

Cheers, Alan
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1126
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,060
like
02/01/17 01:19 AM (2 years ago)
Hi Alan, yes i am thanks, I was waiting till you had updated your plugin before i started as i use your Button plus in all my apps, I am only using plugins that have been updated for the new core to avoid any problems, it means im very limited to what i can do, but at least theirs no errors. I personally think plugin developers should update there plugins for both IOS and Android and charge more, I know i haven't got problem paying more for extra features that work on both platforms.
Thanks
Sean
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.