Discussion Forums  >  Config Data, JSON, App Refresh

Replies: 10    Views: 182

mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
10/31/13 11:47 AM (9 years ago)

There was a problem parsing some configuration data ERROR

Hey guys, For some reason, all of my self hosted apps seem to broken. It seems like they are unable to read the config file. I am getting this error whenevver I hit refresh with any of these apps: There was a problem parsing some configuration data. Please make sure that is is well-formed. I have tried validating the JSON and there are no problems. Does anyone have an idea of where something else may be going wrong? I think my web server updated its PHP recently - would this cause a problem like this? Here is an example of an app having the problem: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/countdown-for-xbox-one-release/id657263914?mt=8
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
10/31/13 01:44 PM (9 years ago)
I've been troubleshooting everything I can think of and can't figure this out.
 
PSMDanny
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 1166
Reg: Dec 09, 2011
Heerlen
21,940
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
10/31/13 02:23 PM (9 years ago)
Hi mleonard, If your webserver is updated than this could be the problem. The controlpanel doesn't run (properly) on php5.4 and higher. If this is not the case look if magic_quotes is on and if, turn in off. Just some first thoughts. Best Regards, Danny
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
10/31/13 03:58 PM (9 years ago)
Thanks Danny, It's currently running PHP Version 5.3.27 and magic_quotes are set to OFF. I'll keep digging!
 
PSMDanny
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 1166
Reg: Dec 09, 2011
Heerlen
21,940
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
10/31/13 04:09 PM (9 years ago)
Hi mleonard, Ok :-( If you create a testapp --> can you download the source code? go into your config.php and look for error reporting. Default is '0' Change this to '1' and create some new screens in the testapp. See if errors pop up! Best Regards, Danny
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
10/31/13 04:25 PM (9 years ago)
Ok I created a new app and yes, I can download the source code. I enabled error reporting and am able to to make screens. The app loads in Xcode, but when I hit refresh it displays the same message as my other self hosted apps: "There was a problem parsing some configuration data. Please make sure that is is well-formed."
 
PSMDanny
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 1166
Reg: Dec 09, 2011
Heerlen
21,940
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
10/31/13 04:29 PM (9 years ago)
Hi mleonard, If you run the app in xcode, what does the output console tell you. Most likely that this will help further. Best Regards, Danny
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
10/31/13 04:31 PM (9 years ago)
All of my self hosted apps are displaying this same output: 2013-10-31 18:24:55.978 testapp[25239:c07] BT_application: ERROR parsing JSON in validateApplicationData: ( "Error Domain=org.brautaset.JSON.ErrorDomain Code=3 \"Unrecognised leading character\" UserInfo=0xb3b91e0 {NSLocalizedDescription=Unrecognised leading character}" ) 2013-10-31 18:24:55.979 testapp[25239:c07] BT_application: validateApplicationData: ERROR: There was a problem parsing some configuration data. Please make sure that it is well-formed. 2013-10-31 18:24:55.979 testapp[25239:c07] testapp_appDelegate: error parsing downloaded app config data
 
PSMDanny
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 1166
Reg: Dec 09, 2011
Heerlen
21,940
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
10/31/13 04:40 PM (9 years ago)
Hi, I've send you a pm. Best Regards, Danny
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
11/01/13 02:58 PM (9 years ago)
In case anyone has this problem in the future: First of all, thanks so much to PSMDanny and David for helping me figure this out! It turns out my server was .htaccess hacked - meaning someone placed their own .htaccess files all throughout the server, making the mobile url's redirect to adult content...which was the reason the .config file could not be found for all of the apps on my self hosted server. So to get it working, I had to delete all of the .htaccess files not needed (these are hidden files by default in most FTP applications). This is just one reason you should avoid cheap shared hosting plans :) I am using a friend's dreamhost account in case anyone is curious. Next step is to change passwords and probably look for my own hosting.
 
PSMDanny
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 1166
Reg: Dec 09, 2011
Heerlen
21,940
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
11/01/13 03:18 PM (9 years ago)
Hi mleonard, Glad I/we could help. Sometimes these things happen with not good (securely) configured servers but most of the time it's the, not updated, software that is installed on those servers like Wordpress, Joomla, etc. Hackers get access to the servers by security flaws and are able to put (infected/malicious) files on the server. So always update your software and related plugins, components, modules, widgets with the latest versions. Best Regards, Danny
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.